DUI Defense


If you have been charged with a DUI offense there are steps that must be taken immediately. In Alabama a DUI conviction can cost you your license, jail time, fines or all three. DUI arrest and charges can affect your life and your future. It is important that you contact Attorney Kristin M. Kizziah immediately to discuss your charge. The most important aspect of a DUI case is having someone to explain your options and defend your rights every step of the way. Alabama Laws regarding driving under the influence state a person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle while there is 0.08 % or more by weight of alcohol in his or her blood. Alabama law does not limit DUI charges to only operation of automobiles; a vehicle can mean a four-wheeler, golf cart, lawn mowers, or even a horse.

Fines and punishment for DUI 1st Offense:

  • Imprisonment for not more than one year OR
  • Minimum fine of $600.00 and Maximum fine of $2,100.00
  • 90 Day Suspension of Driver's License which can be stayed by electing to have an approved interlock ignition device installed and obtaining a restricted driver's license.

Fines and punishment for DUI 2nd Offense:

  • Minimum fine of $1,100.00 and Maximum fine of $5,100.00 AND
  • Imprisonment which can include hard labor for not more than one-year
  • Driver's License shall be revoked for one year and ignition interlock device installed for two years after the driver's license is reissued.

LawyerUp, LLC Is Here for You

At LawyerUp, LLC, we focus on Family Law and Personal Injury and we are here to listen to you and help you navigate the legal system.

Contact Us Today

LawyerUp, LLC is committed to answering your questions about Family Law and Personal Injury law issues in Alabama. We'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.